6 thoughts on “A Four Letter Word: What’s The One Civic Duty That’s Not Enforced?”

  1. Ugh, I can’t stand hearing people say they’re not going to vote “because I don’t like any of the candidates”. First of all, there are many third, fourth etc parties that people can vote for. Granted I get annoyed because from what I can see, those don’t even get counted. Maybe those candidates won’t win but they could inform candidates of why people from their own parties aren’t satisfied.

    That’s why my boyfriend is in favor of single transferable votes; for example, I vote for Jill Stein. I then vote for my next favorite candidate. So if that’s Obama, he’ll still get my vote if Stein does not make it. It sends a message and people have zero excuse for not going to the polls. Anyway, if someone’s not satisfied, there’s plenty they can do. But when I hear someone say (it verges on bragging)that they’re not going to vote, I know it’s just laziness.

    1. Amelie,

      How interesting! I hadn’t heard of the single transferable vote and it sounds like a good idea.

      Who can argue that our electoral system is in dire need of reform? Apparently, there’s a book and film coming out entitled “Electoral Dysfunction”, sounds like a must read.

  2. I’ll definitely be voting! I’ve taken responsibility to exercise this civic duty every chance that I get. It was something I looked forward to doing before becoming a citizen, and haven’t stopped doing since becoming one.

    When folks start complaining, the first question I ask us “are you voting?” If they give me some dumb excuse for not voting (believe it or not, many of them are not low education voters), I’ll shut it down…not having that conversation.

  3. Greetings and thanks for deciding to follow my work. I read a couple of your pieces and I am equally impressed. Keep up the good fight and I’ll keep in touch. I see you already have another rather suspicious looking fellow reading your stuff.(That guy in the red tie) Better keep a close eye on him. He is known to me as a rabid Obama supporter and if you are not careful; he will say all sorts of things that are true, accurate, inspirational and surgically insiteful.

    Talk again soon.

    “Lyin’ Mitt is UN-FIT”

    1. LOL. You’re welcome and thanks for the compliment. I think I know if the fellow you speak of, the infamous Obamacrat. An excellent description :).
      Also, love your pic and jaunty hat, too cool. :)

I love it when you comment...

