The Boy Who Lived

I have been a fan of Harry Potter it seems forever. I was chomping at the bit to see the new movie and was there Day 1. I am happy to say that once again I was not disappointed and can enthusiastically give it 2 Thumbs Up. 🙂

I have no shame lol. It is no secret that I have a weakness for children’s tales of the epic variety but that’s not enough to explain my devotion to Harry, the world of Hogwarts and its enduring magic. I love children’s tales because of the simplicity of the timeless messages they contain. My favorites are morality tales which engross you by suspending your natural adult tendency to disbelieve while taking you on wild imaginative rides, straight out of someone’s fantasy.

If you are a writer, you have to be a little in awe of J.K. Rowling who is now one of the richest women in the world because of “The Boy who lived”. A fluke? I say it is a well deserved circumstance with a bit of luck thrown in. Harry Potter’s story will be timeless without doubt because of the themes it explores and the very humanness of the tale.

What I Love…

  1. All adults are God like to children. Dumbledore is Harry’s God. The relationship which evolves between them, crystallizing in the final novel, involves all the stages of a spiritual journey. Harry trusts Dumbledore implicitly and just like a child holds him in great awe while feeling a deep, unquestioning love for the headmaster.  His belief in Dumbledore’s omnipotence and goodness is tested through his trials and he arrives at a point where he questions everything he believes about him. It is painful, it is tormenting and it is very necessary. It is a part of growing up and a part of faith. Life presents him with a choice, to believe or not to believe.? He must accept his hero’s very human flaws, abandoning his idealized image for reality. If you can do this and still love and believe in a world gone mad, you’re doing pretty damn well.
  2. Harry, right down to his name, is incredibly normal and relatable. It is one of the reasons I believe the story is so successful because he is accessible. His normalcy wedded with his intrinsic goodness when subjected to exceptional circumstances rises to every challenge.
  3. Who doesn’t love a tale where good triumphs evil?
  4. It is the only story I can think of that has a truly fresh take on magic. It vividly describes a world from the most mundane to the most complex. encompassing history, architecture, art, capital punishment, transportation, politics, philosophy, games, food, media, class etc. J.K. Rowling’s imagination and detail are off da chain! Pretty damn cool.
  5. The lessons, the lessons…
  • Love and friendship are everything.  They are “A light for you in dark places when all others have gone out,” from the Lord of the Rings.
  • Stand up for what you believe in
  • Perseverance yields the best rewards 
  • Any victory worth having is the hardest fought
  • Things are not always what they seem
  • Slavery and lack of consideration for others is unethical and immoral
  • Help comes when you least expect it
  • Humans are fallible but your mistakes do not define who you are
  • How you rise to challenges is one of the most important indicators of who you are and shall become…
One thought on “The Boy Who Lived”

  1. I have never gotten into the Harry Potter series, not even the movies. Although now that they are nearly finished, I might watch the full series just to see it. I don’t read much fiction anymore. Mostly, I read nonfiction, just stuff to feed my brain. As I’ve grown as a writer, I’ve found that I end up dissecting fiction too much and can’t enjoy it. There are still a few writers I read, like Neil Gaiman, but mostly I’d rather be writing a story than reading one.

    I am, however, very grateful to the Harry Potter series for getting an entire generation to read.

I love it when you comment...

