Where you come from and where you’re at…

Yesterday, was a crazy day. We have so many things that we are working on simultaneously, business start up tasks that coincide with the very wlecome arrival of the gardening season, house repairs and improvements, prepping our rental space and finalizing my Erotica submissions. Initially, we thought it would be good to rest but the weight of looming projects propelled us forward and before we knew it we were attacking the bookshelves.

I am a proud book hoarder. My bookshelves are bursting with books and I need more but that’s a low priority considering what is on our plate now, so we decided it would be best to box my least favorites. 12 boxes later, I can only say that it was quite a journey. It was like looking through my life in reverse and what an evolution lol. I shelved all my Danielle Steel, Sidney Sheldon, Judith Krantz, Sex in 101 positions, The Kama Sutras, Robert Ludlum, Self help, How to Get Rich Quick, Financial Planning, the majority of Fantasy and all Telecommunications related books, to name a few.  

When I was done, the collection was a clearer reflection of my current interests and lifelong favorites: Stephen King, Anne Rice, Eric Jerome Dickey, Baldwin, Anais Nin, Mythology, Dan Brown, Vampire Books, Erotica, Erica Jong, Marquis Des Sade, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Milan Kundera, JK Rowling, DH Lawrence, Proust, Toni Morrison, Leo Tolstoy, Vladimir Nabokov, Nikki Giovanni, Rumi, Henry Miller, Books on Psychology, Irish, African, African American and Classic Literature, Grammar, Sexual Diversity, Women’s History, Gardening and Travel books from around the world. Very cool.

The treasure trove also contained a picture that has been lost for 11 years of my great grandmother, Geneva. The picture is from 1939 and I was amazed to see me in her features, staring back at me. I looked at my face anew and saw the faces of my Great Grandmother, Father and Mother coalesced, way cool. It was almost as if we talked her up, since my Mom and I were talking about her 20 mins. before I found the picture.

At some point, I plan to do my Family tree and have been watching with great interest the new TV Show “Who Do You Think You Are?”  http://www.nbc.com/who-do-you-think-you-are/ The story of Vanessa Williams and Rosie O’Donnell’ was fascinating.  All of this coupled with the importance of Black History month, has regenerated my interest in Genealogy.

I have always wanted to know which part of Africa we come from. My Great Grandfather was Cherokee Indian so I guess between that and my African ancestry I was doomed to be 6’2 lol. Someday, I’d like to know what my ancestors last names were and my tribal history. My Mom told me yesterday that she has childhood memories of visiting the Virginia plantation and remembers the slave owner, “Crazy Frank Smith” whose last names we bear.  She also told me that my Grandmother, a powerhouse of a woman who became a Harlem Beautician was born as a slave and had no more than a 3rd grade education. I was only 12 years old when she died but I remember her zest for life, her fearlessness, her love of travel and her face as she told me about her last trip, walking barefoot across the Golden Gate Bridge before she succumbed to Cancer at the age of 72. Her face was radiant and understanding where she came from, I now understand why. She has been an inspiration to me all my life.

For her and all who have gone before her, I have decided to complete my college degree. In the flux of my life, I have become a career college student and still not completed this goal I set myself as a teenager. Now, it seems tremendously important as I have always loved education and I will be the first in my family to complete a degree.

So one could say that the cleaning of the bookshelves is a metaphor of my journey. I am redefining what is important to me, packing away that which is not needed, dusting off and sprucing up what is and focusing my energies to continue blossoming…

What’s on your shelves? 🙂

7 thoughts on “Where you come from and where you’re at…”

  1. Take this with a grain of salt, but if I were you, I would take a long, hard look at your motivations for going back to college. Is it to get a better job? Is it to learn more about how to run your business? Personally, I don’t recommend getting a degree just for the sake of having one. Education is simply too expensive today. If you’re wanting to learn more about how to run your business, you can always take individual courses that focus on just what you need to know for that. Then, in a few years when the business is thriving and the economy is better, you can go back to get the degree to satisfy that need, but economically, it makes more sense to put more of your energy into the landscaping business and make that successful first.

    1. Appreciated, A. Your point is well taken. I am looking at Horticulture so it will satisfy two needs: expanding my knowledge for the business and my personal desire for the degree. Will continue mulling it over as I add up the costs. NICE…

  2. CoCo….finish that degree. They make it a lot more attainable since the computer came into the program. You can do all this online. I went back and completed mine and it took five years, but each year that I let that goal lag behind made me feel worse about trying to get my degree.
    Plus….the longer you wait , the more you will lose those vital credits you gained from the past.
    you need to go……Co-Co for C-C-College….
    spread the humor: charlywalker.wordpress.com

    1. Co-Co for C0C-College! Now that is a chant I can get behind lol. Thanks, Charly. Rutgers here I come. 62 credits in, I betta move my arse lol. Happy to meet a fellow humorist. Am all agog to check out your blog :). Viva la Spring!

  3. Blessings…..

    Our ancestors are never gone as they run through our veins, they are always with us through DNA. In terms of books hmmmmmmmm…many, I gave away all my halequin romances years ago to non-english speaking women, its a great way to improve their English as the vocabulary is so extensive. Off the cuff I would say some of the books on my shelves are Yesterday I Cried by Iyanla Vanzant, The Miseducation of the Negro by by Carter Godwin Woodson, Black Skin White Mask by Frantz Fanon, The Black Jacobins by by C.L.R. James, Looking White People In The Eye by Sherene Razack, Book of Negroes by Lawerance Hill, Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion (Collins Business Essentials) by Robert B. Cialdini, The Concubine (Harlequin Blaze) by Jade Lee, Tapping the Power Within: A Path to Self-Empowerment for Women by
    Iyanla Vanzant, Sweetsmoke by David Fuller, The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, just to name a few.

    Have a blessed week.
    Rhapsody

    1. Rhapsody,

      Thanks for the stopping by and leaving such a great comment. I got excited just reading it lol. The idea for donating books is very cool – love it!!

      It sounds like you have an awesome library and I would love to get my hands on it :). Iyanla is wonderful, I just re-discovered “Yesterday I Cried” and am looking forward to her upcoming book “Peace from Broken Pieces”.

      Peace & Blessings,

      C.

I love it when you comment...

