Objects In The Mirror

A new poem from my murky mind. Not chipper today, no siree Bob. But tomorrow, thank God, is another day. It’s interactive, click on the links! 🙂

____________________________________________________________________________________________

OBJECTS IN THE MIRROR

Someday,

when I have money again,

I will go to Butter in New York

and wander gilded streets after dark,

drunk on the libation of happiness.

Someday,

when my load is lighter,

I will dance down the Champs Elysees

destined as I am for Triumph.

My fighter spirit deserves no less.

Someday,

when the tides change,

I will descend upon my favorite store,

Lord & Taylor,

and run my hands along the furry, silky,

brightly colored fabrics with their false promises of joy.

I will buy nothing just because I can.

Someday,

when something finally gives,

I will visit the Sistine Chapel

to marvel at the genius of Michaelangelo

and slap the hand of God.

Someday,

I plan to sit on Aruban sands

beneath the sheltering, contorted arms

of a Divi Divi Tree

and watch the wind fan endlessly

through the pages of a book

written by Me.

Rewarded for my perseverance.

Someday,

God willing,

I will keep my promise to take my Mom to Africa

It will be her first time flying through the clouds

and touching down in another hemisphere.

Because she gave me the gift of life,

I would give her the world.

And maybe,

when the time is right,

I will make my way to Andalusia

to see the Lipizzaner running free.

But not today.

Today,

I must keep my head down

and my back straight

for fear that if I bend

I will break.

Waiting,

hoping and dreaming,

that objects in the mirror

are closer than they appear….

10 thoughts on “Objects In The Mirror”

  1. Thank God for the highs and lows of emotional turbulence. I mirror your thoughts here tonight as I read this and know this existence well.. the sadder part of me knows that tomorrow I will be engulfed in some new passion I yearn to drag others into just to see their smile.
    I am blessed by life that the highs and lows eternally provide for us the next mountain (high) to sing from for i would hate to lose you (or me) forever in the valley of low.. You, especially are too sweet xx

    ^!^

    1. Ola Gypsy,

      So wonderful to see you here again. Thank you. You have a way with words, woman :). I’m touched and reminded of what joy there may be amidst, or following, freshets of pain. I loose the thread of happiness only to find it again. Thank the goddess for rainbows and the comfort of friends. Holla if you need a shoulder.

      Peace,

      C.

  2. Hey Empress,

    Happy Monday! Never a truer word was spoken, “the more grounded I am, the better the flow.” I am now at the precipice of starting to work in earnest on my book and I am nervous although you didn’t hear it from me lol. I have scads of projects which were begun and abandoned. Ah well, this time is different, best to move forward without looking back, in some cases. It’s a part time job trying to figure out how to segment your time and I don’t have kids! 🙂

    Peace, Blessings & Productivity

  3. Beautiful, Coco!

    I feel the longing, anticipation, proximity, and palpability of what you see in the mirror. They’re closer than you think, especially when you can still see them. Keep the images close, and the desires to have them even closer.

    Write it, write it! 🙂

    1. Ola Empress,

      Beautiful comment and great advice. I was considering making a Dream book. I’m still wondering how true the manifestation of energy is ;). Hope all is going well with the book.

      1. A Dream Book sounds like a fantastic idea!

        All is…going…with the book! 🙂 Mostly, it’s a therapeutic process, a coming of self, an unfolding, so I’m patient with it, though I don’t like the fact that that slows me down. I’m learning a lot about myself in the process. Amidst getting my financial and physical self in order (no resolutions, please!), I manage to find the time to write, though I mostly have to steal it, then squeeze it in. Stretches of productivity and long uninterrupted hours of time are hard to find, so squeeze I must! LOL! It’s all connected! The more grounded I am, the better the flow!

  4. Coco, you have truly outdone yourself with this one! I just had to Tweet it, girl! Just beautiful, I tell you! You are so gifted, lady. Your prose leaves me forever awestruck. If I ever have any money, let’s go to Butter! 🙂

    1. Hi Bella,

      Thanks for the Tweet! I’m honored. It’s funny that when I started writing it, I was sad but by the time I finished I was happy and full of anticipation. I love that writing does that for me. It is transformative and uplifting. I’m honored that you liked it so much.

      Butter is da BOMB lol.

I love it when you comment...

