UPDATED: Lunatics in the Hall: James Yeager

**Scroll to the bottom for the updates**
Late, late, last night when I should have been sleeping, I watched the Ed Show on MSNBC. He showed a clip of a video quickly going viral by James Yeager, CEO of Tactical Response in Tennessee. Yeager is a pro-gun advocate of the zealous persuasion. Apparently, he was so angered by VP Joe Biden’s comments that President Obama will use Executive decree to push through aspects of gun legislation, as yet undetermined, that he went ballistic. (I love deliberate puns!)

The video sparked outrage amongst the sane and undoubtedly ginned up more idiocy amongst a select few. Yeager then went back and edited the first video to walk back some of his more incendiary comments but this is 2013 and it was too late. Click here to see the original video. NOTE: Pack Your Bags Part 1 below is the edited version which Yeager posted.

These are the comments which got everyone in an uproar:

“F*** that! I’m telling you that if that happens, it’s going to spark a civil war, and I’ll be glad to fire the first shot.’

“Load your damn mags and ‘get ready to fight.”

“I’m not fucking putting up with this. I’m not letting my country be ruled by a dictator. I’m not letting anybody take my guns! If it goes one inch further, I’m going to start killing people.”

Which lead to a second video, attempting to demonstrate that he isn’t completely batshit crazy, wherein he clearly states that he is retracting none of his comments. Right. So, the second video merely serves to underscore the first. Go figure.

Upon watching the videos, I was truly flabbergasted and quite honestly, terrified. I am always amazed when people elect to let their craziest thoughts out into the light of day, but never more so than on the Internet where it can be tracked, copied, pasted and magnified ad infinitum.

His statements are so far from rational I can only conclude that he’s unhinged. What gives anyone the right to think that they can take up arms against the populace in defense of their right to bear arms? Seriously. If he meant the authorities, he should have said so but I truly doubt he gives a damn. He’s a citizen threatening to amass an army to defend against what he deems a tyrannical government, the irony of said statement should be obvious, and he’s totally unconcerned about the public good.

With all this talk of 2nd Amendment Rights, it seems like a great time to review the actual verbiage.

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

How exactly does that statement justify the individual rights of citizens to bear guns for self protection? Taken in context, the right is part and parcel of a well regulated Military.

We clearly have extrapolated it to mean more. We have developed a gun culture which revolves around hunting and self protection, I get that. I am not suggesting that guns be banned although I personally would be delighted since I think that history illustrates with perfect clarity why deadly weapons do far more harm than good. But, to the point, the statement above neither states, or implies, the rights of an individual to bear arms for self protection. Nor, does it specify what kind of weapons we have a right to carry. In a 21st century world with rocket launchers and assault weapons it is time to make that distinction.

Here’s an excellent post courtesy of The Obamacrat which illustrates how the 2nd amendment is being misinterpreted.

Now, before you dismiss this as yet another crackpot using the Internet to voice stupidity, have a look at his page. Yeager has the expertise to carry out his threats with deadly accuracy. He’s ex-military and has certifications in everything from handguns to pyrotechnics. In my mind, that takes this into the realm of the terrifying.

Thank God he was stupid enough to make that public declaration because the state has quite sensibly suspended his license to carry. Unfortunately, he still has the guns, access to a veritable arsenal courtesy of his business, connections and the knowledge.

Let us hope they have him under surveillance. Things are quickly getting out of hand. People need to get a grip!

Also, he’s appearing on the Ed Show tonight at 8 PM on MSNBC. So, the coward that is James Yeager decided not to appear on the show last night. His lawyers are apparently trying to do damage control. Ha! Michael Eric Dyson appears on this video to discuss the waves of Gun Nut extremists. Definitely worth a listen.

1/15/13: Damage control, anyone? Yeager has walked back his comments and I would be you a $1,000 that I don’t have that he is insincere.

Is it no wonder that this song won’t leave my head?

13 thoughts on “UPDATED: Lunatics in the Hall: James Yeager”

  1. Coco, I was up and viewed this as well. Lunacy is a mild term but all I could come with right now. What really frightens me is this is all the setup for some crazed, John Booth type secessionist to give his life for the cause!! There are some that have used religion to motivate and call to action the hyper-religious and paranoid crowd. We must all as you have–continue to symbolically ride the horse (clanging the bell) to every urban and rural hamlet to expose and keep the spotlight on this craziness.

    1. Happy New Year, Carolyn!
      Yes, I am trying to be polite although I notice that profanity has begun to bleed into my posts. That just goes to show how disturbed I am lol. But seriously, this level of crazy is disturbing and one must keep an eye out.

      Perfect that you bought up John Booth, not just Malcolm X or the Black Panthers as everyone seems to love to do. It’s worth noting that any Black folks who espoused their rights to carry arms for necessary self protection (when under threat of bodily harm) were reviled and considered enemies of the state.

      Peace,

      C.

      1. Happy New Year to you as well . Those circumstances surrounding Malcolm X and The Panthers were very real. John Booth assassinated the President. That was the kind of crazy I was alluding to. I have a caveat about lively discussion or sharing of views without resorting to lewdness or denigrating rantings. However, I, like you am feeling the challenge of my noble intentions with my blog. LOL…

    1. Juessepi,

      Man, listen, I can’t believe people are TRIPPIN like this. It’s a sad, sad statement on the human race. Also? It underscores why people have no BUSINESS with guns. Can’t wait to see what he has to say. I hope Ed has a field day with him 😉

      1. Check this out Ms. Coco, the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security revoked yeager’s gun permit based on his “material likelihood of risk of harm to the public.”

        That is Karma!!!

I love it when you comment...

